You win some, you lose some

Pretty much applies to everything there is in life. From good deals, opportunities, to people, to friends. Since we can’t have it all and the universe knows the beauty in balance – you win some, you lose some.

Friendster was the social network that gave birth to all social networks, methinks. When I was still my teeny self, the number of friends I had on my list mattered. Quantity over quality. It was a popularity game. Like a poll, I had to rule. The hell if I didn’t know this person, s/he was part of the head count.Β 

With Facebook now, I’ve become more discriminating. I do not accept invites from people I don’t know. More so, I’ve come into the habit of checking my list and weed out from time to time. There’s no need to prove anything to anyone.Β 

I guess this reflects the state I am in which I’d like to believe is pretty universal to people my age. We’re in our quarter life. This is a ripe age for us to know that in having friends, quality matters.Β 

Honestly, I feel that I am less friendly right now. I rarely go out of my way to make friends. A stark difference from how I was in my previous life. Somehow, I think that I’ve become so assured of the friends I keep so there really is no need to pressure myself to make so much more.Β As I’ve progressed in life, I’ve become more certain of the cliques I want to keep and those that I can live without. Β 

Of course, there are new people, new friends, the thought of which reminds me that one is never really old to stop making friends. People will still amaze you in a way or two.Β But somewhere along the journey, there’s a realization that the childhood friend and I don’t jive, that a classmate for the longest time is like a stranger now.Β 

Uh-huh. New friendships formed and old friends relegated to mere acquaintances. That’s life!

So what if you just have 10 friends? As long as these guys are 10 good friends who’d stick with you through thick and thin instead of 5,000 friends whose last names you don’t even know.

Leave a Reply

