My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Yey! I finished another book. Bought this one from Vietnam last May and only found time to read it on weekends and today ‘coz work was called off. This is now a motion picture and I can remember that its DVD’s been sitting in my mom’s collection for quite a while – good thing I didn’t watch it even if my favorite girl since Dakota Fanning, Abegail Breslin was in it.Β 

It was my first time to read a Picoult and I must say I enjoyed her writing.Β 

They say there’s no bond like sisters. I pretty know for sure. I’ve been sharing a room with my sister since we were kids up until she got married. We dreamt together, shared stories while gazing up our glow-in-the-dark star-filled ceiling before hitting the sack. Our 4-year gap never really was a gap. So knowing how it is to have and love a sister, I kind of related with the story.

However, more than a story about sisters, this is a story about a family and the choices each one makes that affect the whole. In this case, it’s whether to grant a 13-year old kid, Anna Fitzgerald, medical emancipation from her parents to keep her from donating her kidney to her dying older sister, Kate, who she has been helping all her life to survive. The power of this novel is how this conflict is seen from different perspectives, from each of the family members, the counsel and the guardian ad litem. In the end, I never really got to figure out who had the best point or what’s really right or wrong. You can’t really blame her mom for putting her through this to save the other kid’s life, nor the dad for letting it just happen and Anna for wanting to break free.

I guess no matter what decisions they make, it’s important to note that they made it out of love, thinking that this is the best for everyone even if it means sacrificing a little something.

β€œThere are always sides. There is always a winner and a loser. For every person who gets, there’s someone who must give. ” 


Leave a Reply

