Day 13: 8 reasons to hate me

1. I am useless at home

I don’t like moving around. Cooking is not my thing. I can iron my own clothes but not yours. I don’t know how to operate our oven, a rice cooker and our washing machine. Home equates sleeping and eating, chores not included.

2. I am a bit of a control freak, especially when it comes to romantic flames

I beat to my own drum and I like to steer the wheel. Perhaps this is the reason why I’ve heard this line a couple of times, ‘make me feel like I’m the man.’Β Oh gees. Sorry if I’m wired this way.Β 

3. I will never be a morning person

My brain doesn’t function in the morning and I’m not at my best behavior. I don’t mean to be rude but please, don’t speak to me until after 10am. I wake up after everyone’s done with their lunch. I’d rather be up when everyone’s already hit the sack. I like the quiet and the calmness of the night.

4. I talk a lot

I can’t help it. I don’t mean to steal your thunder but when I get into the groove of talking, it takes me a while to stop. But really, I can listen too you know.Β 

5. I say yes to social invites from friends but unfortunately won’t be there

Don’t get me wrong, I intend to be there. I always want to be present but my work, which is very unpredictable won’t let me. So forgive me please. There will be times that I’ll let you down for being a no-show but believe me when I say that I really want to be there. Come on, who would want to choose overtime work versus dinner with friends?

6. I can be a know-it-all

I’m surrounded by really smart and in-the-know people, from family, friends to workmates and you know, I read quite a lot too.Β That’s why there will be times when I’ll be in my smarty pants. Trust me, I don’t mean to be cocky. Sharing is caring so I might as well pass on the torch of knowledge to you! πŸ™‚

7. I am non-confrontational

I am no martyr but I always favor to come in peace. I try to veer away from arguments as much as I can. I don’t really think I’m a pleaser but I guess I’m more for if it doesn’t make my life hell or kill me, then I’m okay to let it go.Β 

8. I always expect highly of people

My faith in humanity springs eternal. I expect people to be nice, to be fair, to be at their best. Perhaps the reason why I often get disappointed when people don’t live up to my rose-colored vision of who they ought to be. Β 

Leave a Reply

