Kuala Lumpur on a Whim

We were dining at Nando’s in Bugis when my spontaneous fiancé asked, “Do you want to go to KL tonight?” Yes was not my automatic reply. I am sort of a planner so I said, “Let me check the schedule of the bus first.” Luckily, we still had 3 hours before the last bus for the night leaves at 11:59pm. So we hurriedly went back to our place in Aljunied, packed our bags, booked a bus ticket online and went to Lavender which was 2 stations away via the Green Line.

We booked through Bus Online Ticket Website. From what we’ve read, pick-up was at Golden Mile Complex so we alighted at Lavender Station. However, we were told that for Golden Coach Express Bus, we still had to get actual tickets and will be picked up from Key Point in Beach Road. So you see, it was quite a walk!

Follow the purple line.

Follow the purple line.

So that you wouldn’t get lost like us, refer to the map above and details below:

Golden Coach Express Bus

Address:  371, Beach Road, $01-25, Key Point, Singapore 199597

Bus Pickup Point:  Key Point Tel No:  +65 6392 3623

Website:  http://www.busonlineticket.com (online booking available)

They have daily trips to KL that leave at 9:15AM, 7:30PM and 11:59PM. I think we paid 40SGD per person for the tickets.

It was a long ride which I didn’t have a problem with since I am much of a sleeper but I was awakened from time to time when we had to exit Singapore and enter Malaysia’s immigration.

We arrived at Berjaya in KL at around 6am. Since this was such an impulsive trip, we had to look for a hotel. Being a cheapskate that I am, I didn’t want us to spend so much on accommodation. So we had to aimlessly walk around the city ditching Marriott and The Ritz Carlton of course. Good thing we found a Filipina who helped us out! 🙂 Hello, kababayans!

We arrived at Victory 2 Boutique Hotel. It is located at No 114 (Mezzanine Floor), 114-1 – 114-3, Jalan Imbi, Bukit Bintang right at the heart of Kuala Lumpur. It’s a budget hotel so we kept our expectations to a minimum: a standard queen bed room with AC, flat screen TV with cable channels, shower and WiFi. I can say that it’s pretty decent. The staff were helpful too. If you want to see the photos, you might want to check this link to Agoda. We paid 30SGD per night plus additional 10SGD since we checked in early. Breakfast wasn’t included.

We didn’t really have an itinerary to follow so here are some of the things we did:

Look for the Petronas Towers

There it is!

There it is!

They say it’s best to view it at time so we saved it for later. We just had to figure out early on where it was.

Try Malaysia’s Bak Kut Teh

With the help of the hotel staff and our cabbie, we were directed to Kedai Makanan Ban Lee. They say it’s one of the best Bak Kut Teh in town. It is at 222, Jalan Ipoh, 51200 Kuala Lumpur, next to Hotel Dynasty. Being Bak Kut Teh suckers that we are, we couldn’t miss this for the world!

Bak Kut Teh

Malaysia’s Bak Kut Teh

From Singapore to Malaysia, our stomachs crave for Bak Kut Teh

From Singapore to Malaysia, our stomachs crave for Bak Kut Teh

It was also good but I felt the broth of Song Fa’s was thicker and tasted meatier. Kedai Makanan Ban Lee’s version had vegetables and the taste of herbs was a bit strong for me. Still, I am happy I got to try this here. You cannot be in Malaysia and not try their Bak Kut Teh, right?

Sugar Rush at Beryl’s Chocolate Kingdom

This one wasn’t really part of the plan but our cabbie insisted we try it out since they give freebies to tourists. We were a bit adamant since we’ve had a similar experience while in Bangkok. Thank heavens, our cabbie was right this time. We were greeted with smiles when we alighted at this house-turned-museum. There were various kinds of chocolates from milk, dark, tiramisu and even coated potato chips. They were generous enough to give bite size pieces to us and even gave us a cup of chocolate drink to try. Lucky for us, sad for them because we went out empty-handed. We didn’t buy anything! Hahaha! Lovers on a budget here!

Chocolates and more chocolates

Chocolates and more chocolates

The Petronas Towers, Up Close

We didn’t really have much to do so we went to Petronas Towers. It was a beautiful sight. I never thought I’d be in awe to see a building! Wait ’til I lay eyes on The Eiffel Tower! 🙂

1622004_10151940445718520_1249265389_n

Us, trying to squeeze in

What they say is true, it’s really hard to get a good shot, much more a selfie with the towers. So the picture above was the best we could get (or so we thought).

Shopping and Eating Galore

My love affair with the Petronas Towers was cut short when I saw the big H&M across the street. I can’t help it! The flashing red colours were hypnotising! After rummaging through the piles, I suddenly felt hungry so this is what happened next:

Our mandatory corn in a cob shot. Don't ask me why. Haha

Our mandatory corn in a cob shot. Don’t ask me why. Haha

A giant cone of Haagen Dazs for dessert

A giant cone of Haagen Dazs for dessert

Sky’s the Limit Drinking 

That’s me trying to be PUNny. (Get it? Get it?) Hahaha. So with a lot of walking and asking, we found the Trader’s Hotel which was home to the Sky Bar. Yes, that’s where I was leading to. It was quite packed since it was a Saturday night but looook! It’s got the best view of the Towers! No more acrobatic, hip bending stunt to get the perfect shot.

1483437_10151940446388520_521658517_n

1662577_10151940446608520_1829274706_n

After a drink (it was a bit expensive there), we decided to go to The Pavilion. We actually just walked from there to here for 10-15 minutes and found a strip of bars. Such a senior moment because I can’t remember the name of the bar! Sorry! But we were so happy to have the best nachos, try out the dark beer and be welcomed by a Filipino kababayan. I think this is the first time in a long time that I shared a beer with my fiancé since I am not really much of a drinker.

1653366_10151940447043520_1443910913_n

Love at First Bite with Bakwa

This Bakwa shop was just right across our hotel. I tasted one and it kind of reminded me of ham. I liked it more because it came fresh from the grill. So to my friends visiting Malaysia anytime soon, grab a bag of Bakwa for me!

1239733_10151940442043520_2085684849_n

Ramen Fever

We don’t have Ippudo in the Philippines yet and being the ramen lover that I am, I dragged my fiancé to try it. I got my usual tonkotsu based broth paired with gyoza. Heavenly! My fiancé like it too, good thing because he’s paying! 🙂

1531754_10151940447438520_676121851_n

Since we didn’t have return tickets yet, we went to Berjaya Times Square early, like 2pm. There is a booth right outside Berjaya where you can buy a ticket. However, the earliest slot available was at 7pm so we had no choice but to kill time. That’s why we just decided to watch a movie! 🙂 The Berjaya Times Square was like a maze! It was a hotel, a mall and an indoor theme park in one. Eventually, we found the cinema and watched the Police Story by Jackie Chan. It’s action packed like any Jackie Chan movie. It was dubbed in Chinese with an English subtitle.

So that ended our quick, spontaneous and very affordable Kuala Lumpur getaway 🙂

Leave a Reply

